h1

The Great Balcony Beyond

April 6, 2010

I found out the other day that old videos of Siskel & Ebert are available online.  I miss Gene Siskel.  I will still read Roger Ebert’s reviews.  They’re always well written and often entertaining.  But Mr. Ebert is not a good bellwether for my enjoyment of a film.  Gene Siskel was my guy.  If he liked a movie, I was all but guaranteed to like it as well.  Mr. Siskel had an uncanny clairvoyance into my soul.

I came across Siskel & Ebert while I was looking up reviews of the 1988 film Without a Clue with Ben Kingsley and Michael Cain.  (I don’t audit the value of your time spent on the internet.  To each his own.)  It’s a quirky comedy that makes me chuckle.  I wanted to know what other people thought of it.  Roger Ebert eloquently lampooned it.  But I was pleased to see that after all these years, Gene Siskel was still on my side.

At the Movies Archive

Without a Clue (IMDb.com)


Leave a Reply

