h1

Vesta-Ceres – The Beginning

June 12, 2010

I’ve started a new project.  It’s a serialized book called Vesta-Ceres.  I haven’t finished the book.  It’s in progress.  I’m going to post chapters as they are completed.  I’m hoping to post at least one a month.

Some readers who like follow-through and orderliness may wonder what has gotten into me.  I was supposed to be working on MatchMIS.  Here’s the story: my post on April 10 gave me pause.  2017 or 2020 is a long way away.  My main reason for writing MatchMIS was that I couldn’t make myself think about anything else.  No other stories interested me.

Realizing that I’d be putting mountains of effort into a work of fiction that could never hope to offer any gratification other than personal accomplishment, I did some brainstorming.  Here’s an exercise I think that any writer looking for an idea should try:  You’re at a brainstorming session at Pixar.  What do you bring to the meeting?  What kind of ideas do you throw out?  What ideas do you imagine other people throw out?

My brainstorming session produced a couple of workable ideas.  I feel Vesta-Ceres is a strong enough concept to keep my interest and it would be an accomplishment to write.  I’ve developed a general outline of the plot.  But outside of that, I’m writing with wild abandon.  I may very well paint myself into a corner, like a Choose Your Own Adventure book.  We’ll see how it turns out.  But it will be a little more gratifying: Vesta-Ceres is my own story, so I can share it with everyone as it develops.

Vesta-Ceres will be a Sci-Fi adventure book, if all goes as planned.  You’ll need to click on the Vesta-Ceres page on the sidebar to see it.  I’ll post chapters on the page, but I’ll also have a PDF available if you’d prefer to read it that way.

Thanks for reading! – Craig

Leave a Reply

