h1

Blogging Out

October 4, 2011

A week ago I was ready to take a hiatus from blogging.  I’m being pulled in other creative directions lately.  I felt I wouldn’t be able to devote the time needed to polish up blog posts.

As soon as I made this resolution to myself, a dam broke in my mind.  Four ideas for blog posts came rushing in.  (Posts of the real kind, not the ones where I’m making knuckle-headed comments about popular culture in hopes of drawing web traffic.)

So you’re stuck with me a while longer.

While I’m stopped though, here are a few random tidbits:

  • I’ve preferred not to talk about my writing process on Rubicon.  As a result, I very rarely tag my posts with the word “writing,” since they’re not really about writing; they just are writing.  Here’s the funny part: when I want to find something new to read on WordPress, one of the few tags I regularly click on is “writing.”  That’s bizarre.
  • Rubicon doesn’t get a lot of web traffic, which is my own fault.  I’ve not handed out my blog address to everyone I know.  I don’t post links on my Facebook wall.  Instead, I’m practicing marketing by osmosis.  I approach most things in life similarly.  I presume that if I do good work, people will recognize that.  For anyone else trying to expand your blog traffic, I want to let you know: my approach does not work particularly well.
  • I have been plugging away at my novel.  I’ve not finished Chapter 7 because I stopped to write an outline, which was more difficult than I imagined.
  • The search terms that land visitors on this site can be amusing.  My favorite search string so far has been “They bring smooth comforts false – rubicon.”  I have no idea what this means.  But I suppose that which brings web traffic shouldn’t be questioned, true?
  • My most popular search terms?  Variations of “Box 5 at the Opéra Palais Garnier in Paris.”  I only made a passing comment about it last year.  Perhaps I should elaborate.
  • A few weeks ago, Michelle, her camera and I made another romp through Indianapolis in search of bridges.  I forgot my sunglasses and hat this time.  Nonetheless, we came back with 933 new pictures that I can play around with for the next year.  I’ve revamped my “About” page and posted a new avatar image there.
  • I still hate the word “blog.”  Yuck.
Leave a Reply

